Stephan’s Blog

Stock Photography

Albino Centipede?

with 4 comments

Today I discovered this little critter in a small canyon in Big Basin. The shot was taken at f/5.0, 1/60s and ISO 3200 (!). I must say I’m getting more and more impressed by the possibilities this camera enables. I read the RAW into ACR 5.2. No sharpening was applied but I set the luminance noise reduction to 50 and the color noise reduction to 25. This photo is quite usable, even though I couldn’t get the head quite sharp.

By the way, what sort of arthropode is this? Is this an albino or just a white centipede?

What is it? Is it an albino?

What is it? Is it an albino?

Written by glubsch

November 27, 2008 at 10:31 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Actually, I think it might be an albino or smoky ghost flat backed millipede. If it had 4 legs to a segment it was a millipede, 2 legs to a segment and it was a centipede.

    gecko111

    February 27, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    • Hey, this is cool! Someone found my page. I will see what else I can find out about this millipede, now that you’ve given me a lead. Thanks!

      glubsch

      February 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm

      • I think I saw one of these tonight. This one was really fast. Scarey.

        joann

        March 28, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  2. I am an Entomology major, and whilst I was out collecting specimens. I found one of these critters in a soil sample. Definitely not an insect lol. but I do think its an immature.

    Ayla

    January 23, 2013 at 6:57 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

