Stephan’s Blog

Stock Photography

First Shots with Canon’s EOS 5D Mark II

leave a comment »

Golden Gate Bridge, dreary weather

Golden Gate Bridge, overcast sky. Lens: 24-70mm/f2.8 @ 24mm. Camera settings: F9.0, ISO 100, Adobe RGB. Photo taken right after sunset. Click the photo for a full-size picture.

After I picked up my EOS 5D Mark II yesterday, I immediately drove to San Francisco to take some photos. I was mostly curious about the noise behavior at different ISO settings. Even though I didn’t read the manual, I was able to set up the camera within minutes. I changed it to store RAW files and turned the picture mode to neutral to make sure no in-camera manipulation such as sharpening takes place.

The weather wasn’t really the best but this was all about pixel peeping, right? Other than different ISO settings and the corresponding exposure time, the settings were the same. I used a tripod and mirror lock-up.

Since I shot the photos in RAW, I performed some adjustments in Photoshop. The curves were adjusted for more contrast. The white balance was set for a cloudy sky. The photo above is sharpened at 80%, 0.3 as it appeared rather soft as it came out of the camera. I didn’t apply any sharpening to the second photo.

ISO 1600

Basically the same settings as in the shot above, except that I changed the ISO to 1600 and that I didn't apply sharpening in Photoshop.

Written by glubsch

November 26, 2008 at 8:53 am

Leave a Reply

